Immunization Instructions

Immunization Record Instructions

  1. Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis – One dose of the vaccine is required by Massachusetts State Law One dose of Tdap is required for all incoming students regardless of the date of the last tetanus-containing vaccine. Tdap was licensed in the US in 2005. If the Tdap vaccine is not available in your country, defer this immunization until the student’s arrival on campus.

  2. Td Booster required if greater than 10 years since Tdap given.

  3. Measles, Mumps, Rubella – Two doses of the vaccine are required by Massachusetts State Law (If the student was born before 1957, this Immunization is not required.)

    1. 1st dose given after 12 months of age
    2. 2nd dose given at least one month after the 1st dose
    3. Positive Measles, Mumps, Rubella titer - lab report must be included if dates of immunization are not available
  4. Hepatitis B – as required by Massachusetts State Law

    For Engerix B or Recombivax HB:

    1. 1st dose given at an elected date
    2. 2nd dose given one month after the 1st dose
    3. 3rd dose given at least 4-6 months after the 1st dose and 8 weeks after the 2nd dose
    4. The adolescent dose schedule given between the ages of 11 and 15 may be accepted. The dosage must be specified.

    For Heplisav B:

    1. For those 18 years of age or older.
    2. Two doses one month apart.

    For combined dose of Hepatitis A/B:

    1. For students 18 and older.
    2. 1st dose elected date, 2nd dose one month after 1st dose, and 3rd dose five months after 2nd dose.

    Positive Hepatitis B titer - lab report must be included if dates of immunization are not available.

  5. Varicella Vaccine or proof of immunity – Required by Massachusetts State Law

    1. A physician documented history of the Chicken Pox with the date the student had the disease must be included
    2. Positive Varicella titer-lab report must be included if dates of disease are unavailable
    3. Two doses of the Varicella immunization
      1. 1st dose given after 12 months of age
      2. 2nd dose given at least 1 month after the 1st dose
      3. If you were born before 1980, this immunization is not required
  6. Meningitis Immunization/Waiver – Required by Massachusetts State Law

    MCV4-Tetravalent Conjugate Vaccine (Menactra or Menveo) or MPSV4-Tetravalent Polysaccharide Vaccine (Menomune) given on or after the student's 16th birthday and within the last five years. 


    Waiver Form – Must be completed and signed after reviewing the Massachusetts Department of Health Meningococcal Information and Waiver Form

  7. COVID-19 Vaccine (Required by MHC)

    COVID-19 vaccine is REQUIRED for all students. Either 1 or 2 dose with at least one booster. A complete series of a COVID-19 vaccine approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration or the World Health Organization will fulfill the requirement. An up-to-date list can be found here.

  8. Annual Influenza Vaccine

    The Annual Influenza Vaccine is strongly recommended.

  9. Meningitis B Information

    Meningitis vaccine for serotype B is strongly recommended for 10-25 years of age but is not required by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

For more information on Massachusetts requirements please refer to the following links:

Students requesting a medical exemption from the immunization requirements must provide documentation from their health care provider. If a student would like to request a religious exemption, please send an explanatory note to request religious exemption. Massachusetts State Law requires students who have not been immunized to leave campus should an outbreak occur. Students identified as contacts who do not meet the immunization requirements will be isolated or required to leave the campus for up to three weeks.

Additional information regarding MGL Chapter 76, Sec. 15 and 15d can be found at: